Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

First match prep

Brian_E

Need some advice as I prep for my first level 1.  I read where the production division is where to “start”. Also, type of ammo to bring? Very excited to start this new hobby but seems intimidating. Lol

sorry for the dumb questions but I’m a true newbie to this sport.

1 hour ago, Brian_E said:

Need some advice as I prep for my first level 1.  I read where the production division is where to “start”. Also, type of ammo to bring? Very excited to start this new hobby but seems intimidating. Lol

Production division is where to start if you have at least five magazines and at least four magazine pouches.  You can't load more than 10 rounds in your magazines in Production division, and with most stages needing at least 28 to 32 shots, you'll need more than the two or three mags that most people have.

If you only have two or three mags and pouches, sign up for Limited division if your pistol has iron sights or for Carry Optics division if your pistol had a red dot sight.  You can fill your magazines up to capacity in either of those divisions.

As far as ammo goes, just any cheap ammo loaded with full metal jacket bullets will be fine.  Don't waste your money on "match" ammunition.  It's absolutely not necessary for what we do.

Take at least 150 rounds.  200 is better.  It's easier to take the leftovers home than to beg for ammo or withdraw before finishing.

Edited by SGT_Schultz

Go to a match to observe and question. It will help!

54 minutes ago, SGT_Schultz said:

Production division is where to start if you have at least five magazines and at least four magazine pouches.  You can't load more than 10 rounds in your magazines in Production division, and with most stages needing at least 28 to 32 shots, you'll need more than the two or three mags that most people have.