Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

9mm Dies for Revo

RangerMcFadden

I’m going to follow as I’m relatively new to reloading But it’s been my experience that dies matter even less in Revo. Since guns aren’t particular about OAL, no need for a fancy micrometer seating die. I load .38 short colt on a .38 sizing and the rest run of the mill 9 dies. The only thing you need to be careful with is crimping. If you use coated bullets, you don’t want to over crimp and break the coating but you want it crimped enough to prevent walk out on the last couple rounds of the cylinder. I settled on a taper die just tight enough to gauge.

Depends?  

If you only use 9mm brass that comes from your gun, it makes no difference.  This is recommended anyway due to settling on a brand of brass that fits your moon clips tightly without binding.

If you are planning on using range brass, especially if it's scrounged at a USPSA Match with Open guns then you might consider a set of small base dies from EGW or Lee.  They will remove the bulges that can happen with 9mm major.  

The Dillon Dies have a more gradual taper into the die to optimize the case going into the die with no hang ups.

For my Production/SS guns in 9mm I use the Lee die with minimal issues, I will rarely have a case hang up going into the die and then requires a slower pace.  I use a 550, if I had a 1050 it would be more of an issue.

I also use a mix of dies, I use a Lee U die to decap and size, a Lyman M die to expand and flare with, a Hornaday to seat with and here is where I diverge from most others, I use a Lee short colt roll crimp to crimp my s colts and my 9mm's the 9's run in all of my bottom feeders also.

• 3 weeks later...

I've shot 9 mm Revo for awhile and have one set of mixed and a 4 die set from Lee. with the FCU

If the FCU is set up to just close the bell of the expanded case it seems to work fine with Bayou 160's sized at .358.