Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

New to Limited- New TSO or Used 2011? Why/Why Not

Jhall100

I'm fairly new to USPSA (  
Thanks!  
TSO is awesome out the box you can literally shoot a match asap.

2011s in limited are usually fine even used. The difference there's a lot more aftermarket customizability with them.

The most important thing is if you're loading your own ammo or not. 40 wil cost money but you'll save a lot reloading. If both guns feel good in the hand and you naturally point them well., invest in the cheaper one and get started reloading.

Sent from my SM-G973U using Tapatalk

I'm a few years ahead of you.  I shot a Shadow 2 for one season, then an orange for two seasons, and this year I went to a 2011. 

The Orange is a great gun, and by comparison to a lot of 2011's, it's a great bargain.  I'm glad that I used one for a few years, because being a factory gun, with readily accessible parts that don't require any fitting, I could concentrate on my own skills without having to worry about my gun.  It's ready to go right out of the box.  It doesn't need a trigger job, or any custom parts fitted, just take it to the range and get after it.  Magazines were WAY cheaper and didn't require any tuning.  I feel like the Orange is a fantastic pistol for someone who is starting to get serious about the sport.  It's good enough that you could be competitive with it at the top levels, but accessible for most anybody.  Maybe you'll want to shoot something different in a few years like I did, and that's ok.  Turns out people are willing to buy these things used, so you can recoup some of your money and try something new. 

In the end, gun choice is a very personal thing.  You can be competitive with either one, it will come down to which one you're more comfortable with, which one you shoot better and which one you're willing to spend the money on. 

56 minutes ago, XDoctor said: