Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Bi-pod

blaese490

I'm a very novice PRS shooter (2 or 3 club matches) so take this for what it is worth...

At a minimum, the bipod should be removable, should swivel and lock, and the legs should be extendable.

The Harris can do all that if you get the right one and add some aftermarket parts. The atlas has more adjustments, has interchangeable feet. I guess the bottom line is that there isn't actually a $200 difference as you have to upgrade the Harris a bit right out of the gate.

the new Magpul though is cheaper than both and has features to match the atlas. That's the one I'd be looking at. 

The Harris has it's place, mostly with bench or simple flat prone shooting. But where the Atlas and others with more features shine is with odd positions and the like. For PRS shooting, I would consider the Atlas a minimum requirement. You also have to consider durability, both are very durable. A Caldwell and the like ($50range) are a waste of money and time as they won't likely last long...

Edited by RiggerJJ

5 hours ago, DesertTortoise said:

I'm a very novice PRS shooter (2 or 3 club matches) so take this for what it is worth...

At a minimum, the bipod should be removable, should swivel and lock, and the legs should be extendable.

The Harris can do all that if you get the right one and add some aftermarket parts. The atlas has more adjustments, has interchangeable feet. I guess the bottom line is that there isn't actually a $200 difference as you have to upgrade the Harris a bit right out of the gate.

the new Magpul though is cheaper than both and has features to match the atlas. That's the one I'd be looking at. 

Want aware Magpul had a bipod out. I'll have to look into that! Thank you. 

7 hours ago, DesertTortoise said:

Not quite. I have one and its a step up from a Harris but its no Atlas. The Atlas cant locks up tighter, legs lock at 45 degrees, more height adjustment range, it's sturdier and heavier (which I prefer).