Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Open Rifle red dot

bishop414

Building a rifle to suit open rules.  Only issue I have no experience with, the 2nd sight, i.e. red dot.  

Which dots do the open shooters recommend? Thinking 3 moa or close to it.

What mounts to use, and will I need a riser on the mount?

Where to mount the dot?

Thanks for the insights.

Jer,

Some will say you don't need a dot with the 1-6s &8s, but I think it's nice to have. I run a 8moa jpoint on a JP mount. Works great. Don't need a tiny dot (2-4moa) cause it's usually used for pistol distance targets.

Enjoy the dark side!

jj

I tried using a dot and I seemed to waste more time in transitioning from the dot to the scope. I have a C-More C3 scope on my rifle and it does everything I could want it to do. With a 50yd zero it works perfect, aim 3 1/2" high at targets 25yds and closer and pretty much dead on from 50 to 225yds. The nicest part is the dot in the scope is identical to the C-More slide ride dot on my pistol , I noticed that the dot color and brightness vary from manufacturers. The way I do it is set my scope for the farthest shot of the stage, I don't worry about the closer targets being in focus because the dot in the scope stands out enough and I'm used to looking at that same 8moa dot in my pistol. But if you do put a separate dot on your rifle I don't think I would go any smaller then 8 moa. When I had mine on my rifle I just had a simple 45* mount between the scope mount and charging handle with a Burris ff3. I tried it out farther on the rail but that didn't work at all for me. I think a lot of it is personal preference.