Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

How Many Stages At Your Local Match?

I've been shooting USPSA for about 3 years in my local area and 6 stages seems to be the norm. If I go to another club and encounter 5 or 4 stages I feel cheated. My gunsmith said in the early days he and a friend would travel 3 hours to shoot 2. There is no way I would now. But I guess back then it was the only game in town and he didn't know any different.

Do you think more people would come if you had more or less stages? More or less round count?

Let me know what your local club is doing. :)

I shoot the Steve Anderson/Flexmoney matches. I voted 4 but there have been as many as 6 I think. The round counts are around 100 rounds +/- 30. Steve likes high round counts and field courses, which I think is sweet. Steve’s courses really make you think and test your skills. I would like more stages but the club facilities sometimes don’t allow for more stages because of weather conditions, i.e. mud. My personal opinion is if I’m going to drive for nearly an hour, I would like to put at least 100 rounds down range.

I voted 6, we are a monthly USPSA match, and we shoot 3Gun, so 4 stages of pistol, 1 rifle, and 1 shotgun. We did a multigun shotgun/pistol last month, and we have done multigun before, but those are scored as rifle or shotgun courses to avoid the major/minor issue. I drive to several othe clubs who run 4-6 stages every month, and that seems to be the norm.

One of the clubs I shoot at has 5 bays and usually has 5 stages. However sometimes there are classes on one of the bays, so that cuts us down to 4 bays. However when this happens, we adapt one of the larger bays to 2 smaller stages so that we still have 5. Round count there is generally 120-150. We always have a classifier. You shoot with only 1 gun unless there is a special classifier.