Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Can you tell if a gun fits?

robport

I've been shooting for just a couple of years now and yes, I only shoot IDPA (we don't even have USPSA within 100 miles, so please don't turn this into a rant against it )

I currently have a 22TCM that I use as a 2011 (9mm barrel) in ESP, a Walther PPQ for SSP, and a 1911 (in .45). I've been shooting the 22TCM because of it's weight and have really been concentrating on improving my grip for follow-up shots. It suddenly hit me that the 1911 feels more natural right now and feels like it points the fastest. Even with my short thick hands, the Walther feels too small right now and the 22 TCM (think double-stack 1911) feels a little big. I'm beginning to question which one to work with.

I've had a bunch of guns in a gun shop feel really good and when I've gotten out on the range...not so much.

It's not that easy to try out different pistols and if I buy another one, it will most likely be sight unseen.

Is there an actual objective way to measure the fit of a pistol against the hand? It's just a bunch of physical measurements to be compared against each other, so it looks like it could be done.in a reasonable manner.

If it hasn't been done, it could be an interesting academic exercise in ergonomics with real life applications though.

Is there an objective way to measure the fit of a pistol against the hand?

When I was 19 (51 years ago), I started using a Browning Hi-Power 9mm.

Shot it until I was 45 (26 years shooting the BHP) and then bought my

first 1911.

The 1911 was Too Big for my hand - felt very awkward - couldn't close

my fingers around the 1911 grip - LOVED my BHP. :closedeyes:

After shooting the 1911 for a few months, I noticed that I shot the 1911

much better than I shot the BHP. And, the 1911 felt much more comfortable

in my hand than the BHP.

And, the BHP felt Too Small in my hand ... :blush:

Not only is there NOT an objective way to measure the fit of a pistol, but