Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Drop in CGW parts vs action job

TFin04

Hey guys,

I am relatively new to CZ pistols and have some confusion on models, parts, upgrades, etc.

I shot Mike Pannone's 75 BD from the CZ Custom Shop and fell in love. I am looking to buy an SP01. I shot a factory one and the trigger was pretty terrible.

My question is, how much better is the $200-$300 action job from CZ Custom or CGW compared to buying the parts from CGW and installing them myself? Looks like the parts to install would be around $130 without the wait time. Money is a factor.

It would be a DA/SA gun used for IDPA and as a defensive pistol. I know the focus is a bit outside this group but I trust the guys who shoot a lot vs the collectors over at CZ forum.

Ultimately I am looking for an SP01 for competition/home use and a P07, P01 or PCR as a carry gun. I would like them to be set up as similarly as possible. I can't afford a CZ custom shop gun at this time. Any advice you have would be great.

There is a great thread here by Kneelingatlas as well as over on CZfirearms.us for how to do your own.

Get the key parts, follow the instructions and you will do a nice action job.

Although I haven't done it, the write-up by kneelingatlas (aka Professor Atlas) is very detailed and looks to be extremely accurate! There are many great and knowledgeable people (atlas, eerw, etc.) on here that know so much about CZs that would help if you get in a bind. Nothing like a professional doing it but there is a ton of support here to help you. Don't forget to thank all of them for helping, you guys rock!

+1 to recommendations above. I have bought the parts and done a few CZ's myself. I usually get the following depending on model and intended use of the gun:

Springs - reduced main spring, trigger spring, de cocker lever spring (if needed, get a few - this one flies easily), sear spring, FP spring, and FP block spring (if you need it)