Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Light primer strike on 9mm major load with failure to fire CK Arms Bla

sophiasmith

I am having a problem with failures to fire in a CK Arms Blackout 2011 firearm. It's only had 600 or 700 rounds shot through it and I am having the problem with 9mm major loads only. Their OAL is 1.165, loaded with 7.5 Silhouette powder and CCI SR primers. They were loaded in a 1050 loader. They fire at a 168 power factor WHEN they fire!

I have seen light primer strikes on approximately half of the misfires and nothing on the remainder. And it happens once every 25 rounds or so.............. NOT GOOD in a match. Totally through me the other day. I find myself expecting it and wondering is it going to fire or not. Sometimes it does; sometimes it doesn't!!!

Can anyone offer any advice please??? If it isn't apparent, I am rather new at this and need some help.

• Replies 54
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I had problems with light strikes in my new CK Arms gun as well, and primarily just on major loads with rifle primers. I think the mainspring must be VERY light, (like a 15# spring.). I replaced mine with a 19# mainspring, and haven't had problems since. I would suggest at least a 17# mainspring, to get good ignition.

I had problems with light strikes in my new CK Arms gun as well, and primarily just on major loads with rifle primers. I think the mainspring must be VERY light, (like a 15# spring.). I replaced mine with a 19# mainspring, and haven't had problems since. I would suggest at least a 17# mainspring, to get good ignition.

A while back I also was plagued with light strikes. The culprit was the mainspring. Changed it out to a 17# and not a single light strike since.

Bill

IIRC, the CK Arms XL firing pin measused 2.332". The firing pin on my other open gun is only 2.325". (Since I was having problems, I took it out and mic'd it with my micrometer.)