Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Skate board Tape

Hi there

Tried out a friend's Limited gun today and noticed that instead of front strap stippling or checks it had skateboard tape. Felt unusual at first but I got used to it pretty quickly. I'm thinking of putting it on my gun (when I get my gun). Adverse experiences, anyone?

I've been using it for 3 years w/o any problems. Beats the cost of checkering. You can buy a big sheet at any of the skate fag shops for about 6 bucks. It will last you years. When the old stuff gets screwed up you cut another piece and stick it on. It has to rank right up there with sliced bread!

• 2 weeks later...

I like just covering the front strap with skateboard tape and then covering the grip panels separately. You need to slim the grips down a bit and remove the molded checkering so that it sticks and doesn't add thickness to the grip. This prevents having to add parts and modify gun just for a bit better grip. Unless you have small hands I wouldn't recommend putting grip tape on the frame as you also have to tape the inserts to get grip on them.

Btw the best grip I ever saw on a Para was by the gunsmith who built my old P-9. He took the grip, reduced it as much as possible and checkered the whole cicumference (very expensive) including the inserts at the rear of the frame matching them with the rest of the grip. Sorry he no longer works on guns.

Pat

Pat,

A bunch of us "hicks" down here took the soldering iron to the factory panels. No need for grip tape on them now. Took all of 5 minutes. Just don't try to carry it concealed then. Grips stick to everything. I still use it on the front strap.

Chris,