Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

What tears up case rims?

rowdyb

Doing some reloading of various range pick up brass in 9mm and notice a lot of issues feeding into the shell plate. Looking at the cases they all very dinged up rims. So much so they wouldn't slide into the shell plate without force.

No commonality of head stamps.

What gun or whatever causes this? I've reloaded 90k of 9mm and this is my first time having such persistent issue with something like this. So I'm guessing it is caused by a specific gun or something particular about a gun in general.

Well? I don't sort brass at all, but if I can ID what kind of gun spits this stuff out then I can try not to pick it up if I see it in action.

Thank you.

I don't shoot 9mm, but I've had several guns that extracted so hard that it dinged up the rim pretty heavily. I had a 45acp rifle called a Kriss Vector that did it and the Desert Eagle does it as well. A 9mm SMG would probably do the same. I've never seen 9mm brass at the range from other people's pistols that had that issue.

I wold say there are numerous things that will affect the case rim. Obviously the extractor is acting on the case rim. Depending on the gun set-up, operating pressure may still be hign in some instances, meaning much more force may be required to effect extraction.

The ejector also acts on the rim. The impact of the extractor on the case will vary with the slide velocity. This suggests guns with lightened slides will be harder on brass than those with heavier slides because of the higher slide velocity. A stock 1911 45 Auto slide will have a slide velocity on the order of 25 - 30 fps at the point of full rearward motion.

We are used to faring the ejection port to avoid dinging the case mouth, but that doesn't say the rim doesn't hit against portions of the ejection port.

Magazine feed lips can also mark or score the rims.