Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Open gun for beginner

shotgunone

I'm relatively new to the action shooting sports. It's been 30 years since I competed with a pistol. I'm currently shooting IDPA but I'd like to try some of the other games in town. I was thinking about USPSA Open and maybe some steel. I'm trying to feel my way along so not really wanting to jump off in a 3K custom gun. With my aging eye's the use of a red dot kind of appeals to me.

Would a EAA Tanfoglio Elite Witness Match be a good starting point for an open gun for someone new to trying the sport? I have a 9mm and they are relatively inexpensive and pretty dang accurate. I was thinking that adding a mount and red dot would be an easy way to get started.

Any opinions or idea's that I may need to consider? Good advise is always appreciated.

Thanks

Tony H.

Edited by shotgunone

Tony, I love the Tanfos but if you're looking to save money I don't think a Match is the way to go. There are a precious few gunsmiths willing to do this work for you.

If you want to do it just to walk the path less traveled I can commiserate :)

You can pick up a used 2011 for under $2K and you'd be hard pressed to turn your match into a decent Open gun with a big stick for that kind of money unless you want to do the work yourself.

The comp is the tough/expensive part ;)

I'm currently shooting IDPA but I'd like to try some of the other games in town. the use of a red dot kind of appeals to me.

Tony, what type gun are you using for IDPA?

Trying to save money would suggest to me that you first try USPSA

with whatever you're currently running.

See if you like USPSA, before buying a new gun.

As Atlas mentioned, you don't want to "just add a dot" to a gun and

enter OPEN - you also need a compensator and Hi-cap mags.

I'd at least try Production or Limited first, depending on what gun you

currently shoot - and see what you enjoy in USPSA (Much different

from IDPA).

Good luck with it. :cheers: