Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

(Electronic) Leight, Peltor, or something else?

reloader901

Sorry... I'm sure this has been answered, but I have a match in a few days and would like to order something today (5/12/14)

I have multiple regular plugs and muffs and they have worked fine for 20 years, but I would like something a bit better so I can hear.

Leight and Peltor have electronic muffs in the $50 range. Are they okay or a waste of money? (Have never tried electronic hearing protection)

My top budget is $100, but $50 is much better.

Thanks

• Replies 52
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I've got a pair of Howard Leight Impacts that I've been using for two years with no problems. Bought two pair of Peltor's, neither set lasted for more than 6 months. I also had a very poor experience with Peltor customer service when I tried to get them fixed.

I've got a pair of Howard Leight Impacts that I've been using for two years with no problems. ....

Do they cut out talking or low volume sounds or only loud noises? Do they really catch all of the loud volume of the shot, or do they transmit the first fraction of a second and then quiet for the remainder of the shot?

i have had Dillon electronic muff that lasted. The HL are heavy. I have two pairs of MSA. One with gel pads for USPSA and 3G, the other pair for clays.

MSA are worth the money.

Thanks for the input (keep it coming if y'all want).

I've been spending all morning on youtube etc, and have decided to wait and do my research. I don't even like muffs unless I'm shooting something like an AR with a muzzle brake. I prefer earplugs. (Muffs and plugs if very loud). Currenty using earplugs from Home Depot (they aren't cool, but they work).

Anyone like Surefire Sonic Defenders?

I run Surefire plugs more than I wear muffs. I really like them for doubling up when running an open gun or loud comp AR. There are several sizes and styles. I use med EP3 or EP4's.