Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

California 2014 Laws and USPSA Match considerations

awfaxis

I'm a Nevada resident, but live close to the California border. Taking an RO class in California in a few weeks, and checked some laws new for 2014.

From what I have gathered via research, a non-CA-resident may NOT bring a magazine with more than 10 round capacity into California.

CA residents have different treatment, as CA residents that already owned them prior to Jan 1, 2014 may keep them. There are a few more exemptions, such as people owning LCM's prior to 2000, LEO's and such. The key is however, no one may IMPORT. (Prior to 2014, this was phrased IMPORT FOR SALE..., but no longer).

The point is, NON-Residents have NO exemptions.

How will rule 3.3.1 be applied in this case? As most California resident competitors may still legally use "hi-cap magazines", it would appear that all out of state competitors cannot (felony).

It seems to me that "out-of-state" competitors will not be welcome.

Dave

Edited by awfaxis

The difference is the California legislative changes passed in 2013, which became effective Jan 1 2014.

It is now illegal for anyone to bring a LCM into California. Only CA residents have a pass, under specific circumstances.

I don't think this is a change.. people often did bring them in, but it was technically against the law then too.. it's been

discussed here quite a bit. This was true with I lived there 5+ years ago

And since the mags owned by a lawful owner, are ok, there's no change regarding USPSA rules - it's business as usual

Out of state competitors are probably better off in SS, Prod, L-10 and Revolver.. I think even the old laws prohibited loaning/borrowing mags > 10 rounds, but not positive on that

I'm a Nevada resident, but live close to the California border. Taking an RO class in California in a few weeks, and checked some laws new for 2014.