Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Lighten your slide

Sparky

You hear a lot about reducing the weight of your slide, especially in a full

profile slide (I'm referring to a STI/SVI). Is it really necessary and what are the advantages? Is it better to have a standard frame and slide?

Thanks - Sparky

I'm no expert on the matter, but are you trying to speed up the cycling of the action, or trying to reduce recoil?

I have lightened one slide, on my Para-Ord open gun. 4- .375" chamfered popple holes per side. I was trying to get the gun to cycle faster. It was the best modification I ever did on any of my guns. It made a world of difference in cycling time. The gun settled quicker, and faster follow up shots were way easier. However, it is possible to get a gun to cycle too fast.

I felt no difference in the amount of recoil, but the type of recoil changed.

Id sorta have to agree with Madmark. I recently had my .38 super Kimber lightened quite a bit, for no other reason than I wanted to try it. The gun now seems way way quicker. The recoil feels much less, though that may be because now it comes straight back and shoots very flat, whereas it used to be much more up and and down. The downside is that I will no longer shoot anything hotter than maybe 135 or 140 pf in it due to the amount of metal that was removed. However, seeing some of Benny Hill's Fat Free line makes it obvious that you can lose a lot of wieght and still have strength. Now that I have 1 light slide, I dont think I'll ever have another full wieght slide.

I think the main advantage is that it changes the feel of the gun..

It will make the slide cycle quicker, thus probably a snappier feel that when set up properly will feel flatter, quicker, dot settles quicker..etc..

it is possible to make a slide too light..as the cycle of the slide and the timing of the magazine to feed rounds is pretty important relation...