Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Ion Bond vs CERAKOTE

SMS2

Any advice especially from personal experience would be greatly appreciated.

I am in the process of purchasing another open gun. I presently have one in hard chrome and one in Ion Bond. The one I am purchasing was just refinished in cerakote which I have no I have no experience with. The upper and lower as well as the comp (Bedell Titanium) has been cerakoted. I know that some finishes, while perhaps fine for Limited, will not hold up to the abuse of an Open.

Any insight as to the practicality, or any issues for that matter, of using cerakote on an Open.

Thanks,

Stephen

Got it on my Open gun and so far so good. The nice thing is it is fairly inexpensive, just about re do it once a year at Cerakotes price point. I wouldn't worry about it. I'd shoot the crap out of it and when it wears replace it with whatever you want.

Edited by Chris iliff

• 2 weeks later...

From what I've learned it seems to have some properties, such as hardness, oxidation resistance, lubricity, as well as layer resistance, that exceed those of Ion Bond.............which I've been very pleased with. Any thoughts or experience as to how or if it would hold up on a compensator?

Thanks

Stephen

From my experience cerakote holds up nice and is a very attractive finish as long as its done right/professionally. But I've never seen it on a TI comp so I'm interested to see how it does. I have a bedell upper I'm thinking about having cerakoted for a two tone with the hard chrome frame, but I'm unsure if I should do the comp?

Cerakote seems to hold up well on the comp ports but if it touches any part of a holster it will show wear signs fairly quickly. I think builders like cerakote because the prep is quick with just sand blasting unlike poslished hard chrome where every little scratch will show through.