Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Speed vs accuracy

Lager

I must start out with this statement.

Im not new to competitive pistol shooting, but I am new to USPSA.

Ive a few USPSA matches under my belt and am currently in the Unclassified group. I compete in the SS class and in the past, I shot quickly/or normal and found my scores in the range of the "B" class competitors.

I had mostly A/C hits and would slow myself a bit to get the steel the first time.

This last match, I decided to concentrate on double A's with every target.

I took my time on every target, on every stage. Would even take another shot at a target when I thought I didnt hit the A zone.

This means more mag changes, especially when your shooting single stack.

By the 4th stage of 6, my squad was congrats me for the highest score. Double A every time, every steel first shot.

End result?

I shot "C" class and the lower end of that.

So,If anyone outthere is considering slowing down to get the higher point score and take the time hit?

I can tell you, it just isnt worth it.

Accept the A/C hits and increase your speed.

I learned my lesson.

Its speed and accuracy. Just more focused on speed then accuracy.

I can live with that.

• Replies 61
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I see bolth points

but if all you do is shoot accurate and dont practice shooting fast your missing half the game.

me and my son will set a array of tgts up, run it a few times to get a base line time.

then set the par timer up and start dropping the par times down, when we miss the a zone we hold the par timer there till we breake it.

you will be surprised how much time you can take off when you pushing.

I must start out with this statement.

Im not new to competitive pistol shooting, but I am new to USPSA.