Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

USPSA vs IPSC

JKD

Ok, this may be a total noob question: Are there any actual IPSC clubs in the United States? Or is everything in the U.S considered USPSA?

I have a Glock G34 for shooting in USPSA production class. As I understand it, the G34 is legal in USPSA but not in IPSC. Are there any clubs in the U.S. that are IPSC and would not allow the G34 in Production?

Ok, this may be a total noob question: Are there any actual IPSC clubs in the United States? Or is everything in the U.S considered USPSA?

I have a Glock G34 for shooting in USPSA production class. As I understand it, the G34 is legal in USPSA but not in IPSC. Are there any clubs in the U.S. that are IPSC and would not allow the G34 in Production?

Most clubs in the United States will host USPSA matches primarily, but a few clubs have hosted IPSC matches periodically. And when there are IPSC matches, all rules will be strictly enforced as per IPSC mandate.

I haven't memorized all of the IPSC rules, but they are different than USPSA. Actually, the IPSC rules might be available on the USPSA website...but I'm not 100% certain.

Production Division :cheers:

Production Division :cheers:

And IPSC rules can be downloaded here: http://ipsc.org/pdf/RulesHandgun.pdf

Some notable differences:

- Nothing in hands during walkthrough.

- Production round limit is 15.

- In Production, first shot MUST be double action if it's a loaded gun start.

- Production mods are even more restrictive than USPSA: only OFM parts, no refinishing allowed.

- If you have gear in front of the hipbone, the RO can first instruct you to fix it and not have the RM automatically bump you to Open.

- For table starts, after the start signal you can place mags anywhere. (eg. They don't have to be behind the hipbone.)

- Major is 170 PF. .357 is an acceptable caliber for major.

- No loaded sight pictures.

- Unloaded sight picture allowed only on one target.