Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

M&P 9 Pro + Dawson adjustables= who is right?

Cproflow

Hello All...1st post but I've been reading like a fiend!

I'm fairly new to pistols, and just got my M&P Pro, 5". Took it to the range for the maiden voyage, noticed it was shooting waaay right (even at 7yds). I look at the fron FO and it is not centered. Odd...I thought. So I use my nail to try to bump it to center--and the damn thing pops out! Quite easily I might add. So, the dealer is looking into getting another FO from S&W, but who knows how long that will take. Anyway, on to the real reason for the post.

I've heard so many good things about Dawson, I'd like to give them a try. I do like the adjustable idea, so correcting for different POI from different bullet grains is simpler. My quandary is pretty simple.

Both Dawson and SSS state the .305" front FO is required to match the adjustable. This seems pretty high, and I've read some forum feedback (from this forum too) that confirms the same. Other folks seem to like the .265" front, and feel it is just fine. The Dawson site has the adjustable rear as a 'matched set' with the .265", with no equivalent (that I could find) to the .305". The folks that are running the .265" seem pretty pleased--although do they run out of adjustment?

I'm not even going to pretend to know a fraction of what Dawson knows--as I said, I'm pretty new. I've seen his vids on You Tube and was pretty impressed by him. But I'm not sure what the right choice is. I'd like to get the .265" that is matched to the rear, but don't want to make a mistake. I'm already put off by the initial malfunction on behalf of S&W, and don't want to waste any more time & money. I want to shoot that pistol :D

Can anyone who uses either help steer me in the right direction? Is there really a 'right' answer to this?

Many thanks in advance!