Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

$10K open vs $3K open gun

Victor_R

I found the open pic thread and wow there are some nice open guns so I started looking at prices and my eye's almost busted out the sockets. What makes a $10K open gun better then a $3K open gun? Is it just looks? I would think paying for a gun that's $3K better run. Mind you I'm new to this open thing and I've never shot one. Thanks for any info.

It all depends on the 'smith. You would be surprised that "sometimes" a $3k open gun still ain't running as it should be for its price. and yes, i think a running $2k open is the same as a running $20k open gun, its just that you look better on the stage with the more expensive one :devil:

Where did you see a $10K Open gun? The common range for full custom guns is $3K to $5K...give or take. R,

Well it's 8K but add all the transfer fees and WA sales tax.

https://www.gunsupplies.co.nz/firearms/pistol/limcat-guns-razorcat-series-238

That was in New Zealand. Comes out to about $6450 US, and that's probably still overpriced since they have more restrictive laws (or so I am told), plus there's international shipping, customs, etc. I can't find pricing here, but I bet it's more like $5K.

-- John.

ETA: for comparison, a Para GI Expert (US MSRP: $599 US) is listed for $1295.95 NZ ($972.82 US). I think there's a bit of a markup going on, probably including reasons mentioned above.

Edited by John Tuley

Well, like most things you reach a point of diminishing return. You can get a damned fine full custom Open gun in the 3 to 5k range. Above that you are going to get much less performance increase for your investment. A depleted uranium slide racker might improve your game.... maybe, but it sure isn't going to come cheap.

This is an ongoing topic of discussion about where the the balance point is. Is it better to spend 3K on a gun and put the other 2K in training and bullets? How about 3K? 4K?? There is no definitive answer.