Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

help with blinking...

jeffsoward

I've recently decided to try and get into some single stack matches.

So I started practicing. I've changed my grip to a "proper" technique and been hitting the range ALOT, but I can't seem to get past the blinking as I fire.

It screws up my sight-in and I'm always off on my second shot because i'm not following the sight.

I searched through the topics, but I couldn't find anything other than double-plug or keep shooting.

I've put about 2600 rounds through my 1911 in the last three weeks, but I can't force myself to keep from reacting.

My flinch has receded. As I changed my grip and slowed down, I started squeezing the trigger and it helps keep from forcing the muzzle down before I fire.

What really frustrates me is I shoot my .223 all the time without blinking. I shoot my .308 without blinking (most of the time). But that's where I come from, I've shot rifles much, much more than pistols. now that I'm getting into pistols, it's really bugging the crap out of me.

Any advice for a newb?

thanks all.

Are you shooting reduced loads?

Double hearing protection?

These two things can help not only breaking a flinch, but can also help with the blink.

You might be surprised if you take a video of yourself shooting the 223 or 308.

The camera sees what it sees and tells no lies.

In the end, as previously stated, no majic to it you just need more bullets and pasters.

Do a search on the forum for "timing drills". Run them repeatedly, with just a thought that you want to see the front sight move (don't care where you hit, what you're shooting at - as long as it's a safe target - etc). Several mags worth of ammo should be enough to start shaking off that flinch and keep the eyes open when the gun goes off... You might have to do it over several range sessions, etc. Amazing how well that works, though, and it's fun in addition to being useful :)