Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Best Caliber For Limited???

PistolPete

Here is the debate I'm having. I'm in the process of ordering an SVI 2011 and am deciding on which caliber to build. I currently shoot single stack 1911's in .45 ACP. I was leaning towards building a .38 super as I've read a lot of praise about it. However, I've heard with .38 super you really can't make major. With that being said I was told I should go with .40. Then others have said I would be best with a .45 ACP because that is what I'm already loading. Needless to say i'm so confused. I would like to order this gun this week as it will take 4-5 months bo build but I don't want to buy it in the wrong caliber. Please help me out.

I've heard people use .38 super because it is super accurate and super reliable. I'm familiar with .40 as it was the only gun I had for years. Good thing about the .40 is I saved all my brass since I started shooting years ago so I have buckets full of brass. .45 ACP is good cause I'm familiar with it and reloading and my press is set up for it etc. However, it also limits the amount of ammo I can hold in a mag. So my decision is leaning towards .40.

Please give me pros and cons about these and/or other calibers to help me decide.

Thanks,

Pete

Pete, I've been reading your post and have a little advice for you. Contact Benny Hill at Triangle Shooting Sports and get a custom STI in 40, full dustcover if thats what you want,get a schuman ultimatch bull barrel & have it hardcromed. Not enough diffrence in the sti and svi to even notice. You will have all the gun you could ever wish for and have it long before SVI will even think of starting it. Benny can handle the mags and all for you. His ph# is 361-241-1091. He's a top smith and a pleasure to do business with. He's a grandmaster shooter who knows these pistols and supports the sport. Larry

Pete,