Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Do deer move in the rain?

I'm trying to decide whether I'm going hunting tomorrow. It's going to rain in the morning and then change to snow in the afternoon. I was going to go out and be in my deer stand before sunrise. However, I'm wondering if the deer will be moving in the rain. I think they will probably be more active in the late afternoon with the cold and snow....but I have NO KNOWLEDGE to make that claim....just a hunch.

Can someone in the know throw me a bone?

Edited by Calamity Jane

Depends,

on and off rain before a cold front. YEP

Steady rain before a cold front. NOT normally.

PM me and we'll talk about it. I saw 10 this morning. One nice buck but he was a little too far for a bow shot. <_< Edit here (Oh, and it was raining lightly off and on)

Hop

Edited by hopalong

I'll let you know tomorrow, it's raining here and forcast for tomorrow, gun season opens tomorrow. I had a small 6 point under me opening day of blackpowder season and my gun misfired and I have seen him twice more. My problem is it is peanut harvesting time so the deer all moved last week.

I sure hope they do, because I'll also be in the woods all day tomorrow.

Deer around here seem to move well in a light rain. The thing to watch is the barometer. Once it hits 30.0 and keeps rising, it's time to go hunting for sure.

Just to clarify the weather concern...here is my forecast for tomorrow

Tonight: rain. Lows around 40. North winds 5 to 15 mph. Gusts up to 25 mph after midnight. Chance of rain 90 percent.

Saturday: breezy, cloudy. Rain showers likely until midday, then chance of rain showers and snow showers in the afternoon. Little or no snow accumulation. Highs in the lower 40s. North winds 15 to 25 mph. Chance of precipitation 60 percent.