Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

What is causing these smiley faces?

Bill J

Hi,

This is my first post but I've been shooting 1911's for the last 20 years or more. Lately a friend of mine and I have really started getting serious about our shooting. We've shot a couple of plate matches, a USPSA match and this weekend we're going to shoot in an action pistol match.

I had been shooting my HK mark 23 and my Kimber compact but decided it was time to dig out my McCormick Factory Racer for the last plate match. Now this is a gun that has never jammed, not even once in thousands of rounds and in the plate match I had to nickname it the jamomatic. I was completely let down. When I got home I cleaned it and looked for the source of the jamming. I finally decided that my recoil spring was worn out so I ordered another and installed it last Friday before the USPSA match. Well as you can imagine that didn't solve my problem I had 5 jams during the first stage. I switched guns and shot the rest of the match.

When I got home I now knew the source of my problem wasn't the spring or being dirty. I removed the firing pin and started running rounds through it and found that when it jammed it would leave "smiley faces" on the loaded cases. Can anybody tell me what is causing this? I also had a few jams with my other gun and had the same smiley face leading me to believe it's my ammo.

My brass is new Starline and I'm shooting 200 LSWC over 4.6 grains of bullseye with Federal primers and an AOL of 1.25" Here is a pic that shows what I'm trying to explain.

IMG_0166.jpg

Thanks in advance for any help you can provide.

Bill

Where is the smiley face on the round when it jams..? Is the round hitting the top of the chamber and the smiley caused by the break over when the round goes over and into the barrell?