Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

My Concerns About Single Stack Division (part2)

cliffy109

This is part 2 of my concerns about the new provisional Single Stack division. This one has to do with classification. This may be more of a plea for information than a gripe, but unless/until I get better information, its a gripe.

Over the past year, I think I have shot about 6 or 7 club level USPSA matches. It wasn't until December that I decided to get a membership and do this right. I knew about the new provisional division and wanted to get in on the fun. I've been shooting IDPA CDP for a few years now and this seemed like a good way to transition into another sport. In January, our club had an all classifier match and I shot the required 4 stages under Limited-10 to get my C class status.

Last week, I shot under the new SS division. It was then that I discovered that none of my classifier scores are going to have any meaning. These scores don't get reported under my L10 scores and I'm not sure if they will ever count towards anything. That means I am stuck at C class for the foreseeable future. The four stages I shot in January are the only ones that count for anything and I have no opportunity to advance.

That might not be such a big deal if I choose to view USPSA as just a casual hobby. If I don't want to be competitive and advance, that's not a big deal. However, if I want to use the classification system to evaluate my progress, I'm going to have to switch back to L10. Right now, I know that if I shoot at the top of my game, I can make a hit factor that puts me just into the B class. If I ease up a bit, I'm a solid C and if I botch something, I'm a high D. Overall, I'm a high C. I'd like to be able to look back in a few months and see if I'm improving. If I switch back to L10 for all further matches (they run 1 classifier stage per match), I can do that. If I stick with SS, I can't.