Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Getting used to a race holster?

Bagellord

So I have been shooting USPSA since 2017, started in production, went to carry optics, then single stack up until now. I decided to play around in limited some this year, and got a good deal on a Dawson Precision built Edge that came with a race master.

I just cannot seem to get used to it. Obviously dry fire will help, but does anyone have any tips or techniques that will help ease the transition from a "traditional" drop and offset holster to the race style?

Personally, I use Kydex for everything except Open. I can do draws under .70 with Kydex so what is the race holster going to get me, except a DQ once in 2018 for dropping the gun during the COF before I even put my hand on it. 

my experience is that the race holster has no advantage and draw time but has some advantage in being to able to fit different guns. After single stack nationals I switched back to limited and had one bobble with my race holster so I took it off because ain’t nobody got time to f*#k with that s#!t.

I use a Race Master with inserts for all my pistols & revolvers, and I have no issue with it at all. 

So I guess if you want to stick with the race holster, just give it a week of dry firing and I'm sure you will be completely fine with it. 

I use a race holster because it accommodates all of my non-bullseye competition guns without modification.  TBS, I shoot Open with a frame mounted dot and thumb rest, so kydex is not an option.

14 hours ago, davsco said:

bagel, what are you finding that is more difficult vs kydex?

My draw stroke is just all weird because the gun clears the holster so much faster. It's causing me to porpoise

Draw should be same motion more or less. Gun Up, hands come together in front of chest, extend pistol towards target while looking down sight/dot, trigger press as you get min acceptable sight picture.