Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Uneven depth optic cut

Cam73

Hey guys-

I recently purchased a used CO gun out of the classifieds on a different site. Overall it looks pretty good, but the optics cut has me a bit puzzled. Its a factory slide direct milled to accept a Vortex and the cut depth is roughly a 1/16" deeper in the front. I couldn't see it in the pictures before purchasing. In person its not exactly pleasing. I have not shot the gun yet.

I have limited experience with red dots on pistols, but can't think of a good reason not to mill it in parallel with the bore. The gun was shot successfully by a really good shooter. I'm pretty surprised it had any elevation left to be zeroed.

In short, is there a reason NOT to mill a red dot optic in parallel to the bore? Thoughts?

Thanks

I wonder if the optic cut was milled parallel to the sight plane, rather than the slide? Look at a side view of a Shadow 2 (or most any other CZ or Tanfo variant); you'll see the rear sight is significantly taller than the front, so the sight plane is not parallel to the top surface of the slide. This is because of the barrel's slope as dansedgli mentioned. 

In theory, milling the optic cut parallel to the sight plane makes sense; the optic should be closer to mechanically centered when zeroed. It probably looks funny, but may have been done by someone who really thought about what they're doing. 

With that said, the slides I've milled (other brands, never a CZ or Tanfo) all have the sight plane approximately parallel with the top of the slide, so an angled cut was never something to consider. 

Could you post a picture of the cut, maybe one from the top and one from the side? I'd really like to see it if you don't mind, and the pics might show something I haven't considered in the comments above. 

Edited by Yondering

1 hour ago, Yondering said: