Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Anyone Using Titegroup For .45 Acp?

Cuz

Why shouldn't I use Titegroup powder for a 45acp load? Seems no one is really using it. I'm currently using Bullseye, but since I load Titegroup for my .40 loads I was wondering if there's any problems using it for my .45 load as well. I'm just starting out loading a 230gr FMJ bullet. I'm switching from a 200gr LSWC because I want to get away from touching all that lead.

Thanks,

-Cuz

Why shouldn't I use Titegroup powder for a 45acp load?  Seems no one is really using it.  I'm currently using Bullseye, but since I load Titegroup for my .40 loads I was wondering if there's any problems using it for my .45 load as well.  I'm just starting out loading a 230gr FMJ bullet.  I'm switching from a 200gr LSWC because I want to get away from touching all that lead.

Thanks,

-Cuz

I tried it with 230gr. bullets and didn't really like it. The recoil was harsh, it burned dirty (heavy soot and flakey residue on my forearms), and the brass and gun got VERY hot. Faster powders like Clays and VV N310 work better with 230gr., in my experience. Titegroup did a bit better with 200gr. bullets and will push them to major at lower charges and less pressure than the faster powders. I'd still take N310 though. From a pure economy standpoint, it doesn't get much cheaper than Titegroup. ;)

Titegroup in the 45 is a bit harsh on the recoil. But still, a lot of folks use it.

WST and Solo 1000 are a couple that I have shot a lot through the 45 over the years.

Both shoot seem to shoot soft and they are very low flash in comparison to other stuff. Both are clean and neither are expensive.

I use titegroup in every load I shoot. 9mm, .38/357 .40 and .45. It is economical (spelled cheap)

Caution is advised on making sure the powder is in the case. It doesn't use much at all and you must take extra care not to overcharge.

And Yesssss, it does burn hot :)

FWIW

dj