Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

What breaks on a Glock 17?

GIO

I am new to Glocks and was hoping for some input.

I like having spare parts around for all of my firearms and would like to know what is most likely to break or need routine replacement on a Glock 17.

I know they are super reliable but everything has a weakness. Thoughts?

Thank you in advance

just keep extra springs for the striker and the other trigger springs, also an extra guide rod and spring and extra striker and extractor, also if you use fiber optic front sight carry plenty of extra fiber a way to cut it and a lighter to heat up "bulb" the ends to make it stay in the front sight.

just keep extra springs for the striker and the other trigger springs, also an extra guide rod and spring and extra striker and extractor, also if you use fiber optic front sight carry plenty of extra fiber a way to cut it and a lighter to heat up "bulb" the ends to make it stay in the front sight.

That about sums it up maybe some firing spring cups for that rare instance you have to change the striker spring. People have a tendency to launch them across the room when changing that. At the end of the day there isn't much thats going to break if anything, and I've see a lot of rounds come out of a lot of different glocks.

In my experience of running Glocks for competition and carry, since 92, a couple of trigger reset springs, one time a chipped extractor, sheared a barrel lug off of a G21 after about 125K rounds, cracked 2 slides on a G17, but mostly due to running +P+ rounds more than 30K, recoil spring assemblies about every 3 years, had a trigger pin fall out once, firing pin springs get weak after so many rounds, couple of mag spring replacements, What I keep in my carry Glocks, shoved up under the butt plug, is a spare extractor and trigger reset spring. You can reset a broken trigger spring manually but a cracked extractor turns it into a single shot,

image37050.jpg