Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Bring a OPEN gun into CA for match.

tsaijimmy

I am plan to shoot the gold bullet match in CA.

I have some question about bring the OPEN gun to CA.

I ask some question on CALGUNS.net.

someone remind me about threaded barrel.

So i want to ask the open gun with threaded barrel with compensator is legal in ca?

Thank for your reading.

I'm no expert, but I do live in Nor Cal and shoot open. Whenever I shoot a match out of state, I just take my mags apart when re- entering the state so I only have " parts " and not importing high cap mags. I think you should be fine. Just my 2 cents

So i want to ask the open gun with threaded barrel with compensator is legal in ca?

Cal. Penal Code §12276.1.

(a)Notwithstanding Section 12276, assault weapon shall also mean any of the following:

(4)A semiautomatic pistol that has the capacity to accept a detachable magazine and any one of the following:

(A)A threaded barrel, capable of accepting a flash suppressor, forward handgrip, or silencer.

http://www.oclaw.org/research/code/ca/PEN/12276.1./content.html#.VNVHhd-tvqA

One could assume as long as the comp is permanently attached ;) you'd be good to go, but anyone who shoots Open in CA can attest to the lack of knowledge of and/or will to prosecute based upon the above statute. We behind enemy lines tread lightly all the same.

My best advice is to keep everything locked up in a case in the trunk (or out of sight), do the speed limit, if for some crazy reason you get pulled over, just be polite.

If you do all these things you will have no problems.

And seeing as the GBC is at my home range (that a small bunch of people have worked very hard to improve) I hope you come shoot and enjoy yourself!