Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Trying to Get Started Loading

wblacksh

I have decided to start loading myself. I will be getting the Dillion 550 (new to loading package on Brian Enos). I have been picking brass for about 6 months and have plenty now. Now I am trying to find powder. I will be loading 9mm (not major PF, just regular) for now and eventually 9 major. My question is how does everyone get powder? I can't find any local, and all the online shops have it backordered. I 'preordered' 2 lbs of HS6, but there isn't any ETA on it.

Is it normal to buy online and wait weeks for it to come in, or do I just keep trying my luck at some local shops? Probably a bit of both I guess. I didn't realize how scarce it is. I take it that if I find some, I should buy all I can?

I've only ever bought locally. The Hazmat fee will eat you up unless your going in on a hefty order.

A couple of my shops know me as a reloader and loyal reliable buyer. They make sure I get powder offered to me when it comes in. I'm not greedy about it and if I don't need/use the particular powder, I leave it for someone else.

Hopefully you have a shop or two that you have a good relationship with. Those types of relationships can make sure you have what you need.

if you have gun shows in your area, these is usually one or two vendors that sell power and primers. In my area the prices are pretty good on the stuff and you really don't pay more than you would for a pound at one of the sporting good stores.

Also, don't settle and look for one powder. get a loading manual and look at the on line loading manuals at various powder makers. make yourself a lit of what you can get to work. you will have a much easier go at it if you can be flexible.

Edited by mikeinctown

If you were my neighbor, I would give you a pound of WST and set up your press.