Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

How to thank generous shooters?

I'm posting under a pseudonym, I'm a regular contributor here, but I don't want my plan to be discovered.

I've been shooting IPSC for several years. Many of the more experienced shooters in my local club have been very generous to me in terms of helping me navigate the sport. Two of them in particular have been very generous to me and also shoulder a lot of the responsibility for putting on the matches. I want to thank them in some way. But I'm not sure how. Spending some money is certainly doable, but I'm curious if anyone else has done this sort of thing, thanks.

IMO, any thanks, especially monetary, is unfortunately rare, and as such, something as simple as a free lunch I would think would be greatly appreciated by the recipient. Obviously, they are doing it for reasons other than monetary, so anything at all would go a long way.

Speaking as a former MD, I'd be very happy if an appreciative sort of person showed up early to help setup, and stayed late to help teardown. I'm pretty sure these folks would be happier to have your physical help instead of a gift.

Clay, I share your experience of having been mentored by people that I feel are among the very best. I really can't describe the feeling of gratitude in words, but many people know it. This is a debt that cannot be repaid. Instead of trying to find a way to return the gift, simply pass it on. Find someone who is newer than you and begin to mentor them. In this way, the knowledge of the ones you seek to honor never dies, but grows.