Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Brass sorting?/Question about Nickle cases

G17

Hi, i'm new to reloading and picked up my first run of reloading components today. I got a bag of 1000 polished mixed head stamp brass. I initially thought about sorting them out into different ziplock baggies but holy cow, there are so many different types of headstamps in this brass it's not only time consuming but it's kind of frustrating trying to keep track.

I know that some of the walls can vary on different brass which is why it might be a good idea to separate, but is it absolutely necessary? If you guys truely recommend it then i'll do it i just wanted to see if there was a better method.

I'll be working on a single stage so i'll ultimately handle each case. Are there certain stamps of brass that i want to watch out for and not use because it would seem easier to just take a look at it before i run it on the press and if it's a no-go i just toss it.

Also, about a 1/4 of the bag are Nickle cases. Are there any difference between Nickle and Brass. Other then i think the Nickle being a little more aesthetically pleasing are they both created equal? I see a lot of pricey defensive ammo with nickle cases that's why i ask. Is there a purpose to it or does it just look better?

Thanks guys.

Nickle doesn't oxidize like brass, hence self defense ammo... nickle is fine to reload, although you won't get as many reloads out of it as the brass...it tends to be a bit harder, and as such, the case mouth will sometimes split a good deal sooner than the brass case.

For headstamps to avoid, do a search for 'amerc' brass. If you have a magnet handy, some S&B cases are steel that are brass colored. You want to avoid those.

You should also look for military/crimped primer pockets (usually WCC, Fed NT, etc.)