Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Advice for a Newbie with 2 out of 3 Reloader components for .38 spl/.

salemsm

I am a Reloading Newbie trying to accumulate my Reloading stash in the midst of shortages everywhere. On backorder, I have

2K of BERRY'S CAST BULLETS 38CAL 158GR SWC (for both .357 mag/.38 spl)

1K of Federal Magnum Small Pistol Primers (for .357 mag)

1K of Federal Small Pistol Primers (for .38 spl)

In searching the wastelands of the internet to find Power, I found some that I could actually order ... and it's called Clays from Hodgdon.

In doing some research, I found out that this is one of the faster burn-rate powders on the market and therefore not forgiving to the reloading newcomer. Do you all agree?

I have heard that for newbies, better to start with slower burn stuff like 231, No. 5 or Power Pistol.

Of my 2 .357 handguns, I have a 6" barrel S&W Model 27-9. The other is a 8" barrel 1980 Colt Trooper MKIII. So many variables (barrel length, bullet weight, caliber, powder), methinks I will start out with light loads for .38 spl and work my way up. Then start light on .357 mag. Would like to get a general purpose powder that I can use for both and that I can find but if need be, I'll settle for getting powder for .38 spl and continue looking for .357 powder.

I have also heard that some bullet/powder/caliber combinations work better than others. I will (hopefully!) have the bullet (158GR SWC) and the primers (.38 spl/.357 mag) soon. What would be recommendations from the folks that have reloaded before for mid/slow burning powder for a newbie?

Bottom line: As a beginner, is it better to start out with a slower-burning powder as this will take more grains to achieve the same "omph". More powder means smaller chance to double-fill and therefore more forgiving to a newbie?

Edited by salemsm