Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Open in the rain?

5early

What typically happens? Does the comp blow fine water droplets onto the glass? Is it bad enough to wish you had irons instead?

Just curious what others experience has been, match this week may be a bit wet and I've never done it before.

Your shooting open - shoot between the raindrops, that's what I do :surprise:

Seriously - No the comp doesn't blow back, not that you'll notice. Take a wipe to the box to wipe down the glass after sight picture. Position your arm just a bit over the glass on make ready. Its not a big deal - we shoot in New England in downpours and the biggest pain is cleaning dropped mags.

I don't know. I have only shot a few times in the rain since going open and quite frankly I don't notice it much. Keep the gun covered with a shower cap. Keep the scope covered with a scope coat as well. I hover my strong hand over the scope while running the COF through my mind then assume the start position. Personally I think the comp will vaporize any water before it has a chance to spray. Like I said, I really only see the targets and the dot once the shooting starts.

I went through this when I got my new open gun. It's like "do I want to drive my Ferrari on a rainy day?"...I wish I had to make that decision. But here's what I came up with:

• I live in Oregon and it rains a lot.
  • I have a cover for my holstered gun when I'm not shooting
  • When I shoot open on most stages I don't have to reload, which means I'm not dropping my mags into puddles or the mud
  • If I shoot production I'd have a lot of harder to clean mags after every stage
  • If I shoot limited I'm getting a nearly equally expensive gun wet, would have more mags to clean than open and but would have an easier time cleaning the mags than my XD mags (production)
  • I didn't spend all this money on my open gun not to shoot it! :)

First recoil cleans the glass pretty quickly. It ain't perfect, but who cares?