Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

DQ Question 10.5.9

ktm300

I have spend some time searching but not finding so here is the question.

I saw a shooter run his gun empty and the slide did not lock back. He put a mag in it but did not rack the slide. Pulled the trigger, of course nothing happend. With finger still in the trigger guard and close to, if not on, the trigger he racks the slide. The gun was pointed over the targets but in their general direction.

So is the act of racking the slide reloading? Kind of seems like it to me but I am pretty new at this game.

If so is he a DQ?

• Replies 80
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

With finger still in the trigger guard and close to, if not on,

Was his finger on it or not. RO has to be sure it was, not I think I saw his finger on trigger, or RM will over rule call.

MDA

You should go and read the rule in question.

Good question.

From Appendix A3:

Reloading . . . . . . .The replenishment or the insertion of additional

ammunition into a firearm.

The penalty for finger on the trigger while reloading---DQ:

10.5.9 Failure to keep the finger outside the trigger guard during loading,

reloading, or unloading.

HOWEVER----There is this---and it's NOT a DQ while clearing a malfunction:

10.5.8 Failure to keep the finger outside the trigger guard while clearing a

malfunction where the competitor clearly moves the handgun away

from aiming at targets.

SO--the slide didn't lock back. Malfunction? If racking the slide to clear a malfunction

while still pointed at the targets, no DQ. If racking the slide is considered part of

"reloading"--then even though the gun is pointed at the targets, DQ.

With finger still in the trigger guard and close to, if not on,

Was his finger on it or not. RO has to be sure it was, not I think I saw his finger on trigger, or RM will over rule call.

MDA

You should go and read the rule in question.

+1 Finger does not have to be on the trigger.