Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Shooting too fast?

pops1982

Ok, I’ve been shooting limited for 15 months give or take. I was first classified at D class because I would spray and pray on the classifiers and the COF’s for that matter which is a recipe for misses and it cost me. I settled down 3 months or so ago and slowed down a bit and I am getting a good sight picture on most shots, better trigger control and a better grip and I improved to a C classification.

Now, the last couple of matches I’ve performed at a solid B classification. But my question is this, I noticed on a couple of the COF’s in Saturdays match which I shot well (like a solid B shooter would) with quick times and descent hits but I felt close to it becoming a train wreck. I mean I felt I was shooting right to the limit of how fast I could (maybe a smidge faster even) and still get descent hits.

Do you feel this way sometimes during COF’s? Is the good/normal or am I going too fast?

Thanks for your input.

Dean

I have been shooting about six months longer than you and I would say that it is natural evolution. You never know how fast you can go until you hit the wall, then back off just a bit and shoot on. It makes me nervous to be on the edge of control, but the hits are there. I notice it more on classifiers than CoF. All my "mentors" say to try and stay comfortable, but I get the feeling I want to go faster and scorecards let me know when it's too fast. If it wasn't for trial and error, we'd all be GM's.

good rule of thumb is to shoot fast enough so you can get 90% of the available stage points. If you are getting less than that slow down a little. trick is to find that fine line between control and speed. I push a little in practice then back it off when I start to get too many C/D's.