Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Cleaning open gun- racked and *thumb rest [generic]* issue

kitestir

I just picked up my first open gun! Just curious how others deal with the slide racker and *thumb rest [generic]* getting in the way of removing the slide? The racker has to be locktited or it comes loose and I am sure the *thumb rest [generic]* will also! I have a 90 degree mount so the racker has to come off and the *thumb rest [generic]* blocks the slide stop!

It would be a pain to re loctite everytime you clean your gun!

So what do you all do?

I just picked up my first open gun! Just curious how others deal with the slide racker and *thumb rest [generic]* getting in the way of removing the slide? The racker has to be locktited or it comes loose and I am sure the *thumb rest [generic]* will also! I have a 90 degree mount so the racker has to come off and the *thumb rest [generic]* blocks the slide stop!

So what do you all do?

Most modify the thumbrest so that the slide stop can come out... as to the racking lever... mine is ball detented just for the reason, it never leaves the gun until I need to remove the slide, then I just pull it out :)... others that I know just use blue loctite and re-do it each time.

Alan

So what do you all do?

Welcome to Open! Ain't it cool??

The Ball detent is the way to go if you get the chance to have it done. Matt Cheely built mine and included that nifty feature without me really even knowing about it. Man, I owe that guy a beer!cheers.gif As for the thumb rest either do some filing on it or order one from Shooter's Connection that is already made for this purpose. (Racer's Cut)