Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

How to improve in Open class

mioduz

I just started shooting competitively this year. I primarily shoot open class major. I thought I was progressing well in my shooting. Shooting near the bottom of the crowd around the C Class shooters sometimes as high as the B's. I understand that I am not going to be todd jarret over night. But then I decided just for fun to shoot limited minor at the last match with an smith M&P 9mm. I surprisingly smoked my open score. Any suggestions where to start looking to improve my open score. I know already i need to practice more drawing and dry firing so i can find the red dot more easily.

Are you more used to using ironsights as opposed to a dot?

Just gotta get the time in on the platform. If you've been shooting a while with ironsights, running a dot will be a pretty significant adjustment for you.

I just started shooting competitively this year.

Any suggestions where to start looking to improve my open score.

I know already i need to practice more drawing and dry firing so i can find the red dot more easily.

My first year, I couldn't find the dot either - it comes with practice -

try raising the muzzle a bit on the draw, and drop the muzzle as it comes

near the target - but only practice really works. (By the way, I'm still

only a Bad B shooter:( - so if you get advice from an A shooter, ignore mine.

Good luck.

Jack

I takes a while to master the open gun. Noise blast and fast reactions are the traits plus that elusive dot. I went side ways after a year of practice failed to unite me and the dot, on an upright mount. Dot practice need tos be in all sort of positions not just off the draw. Most of the itme if the dot is lost, you are short arming the gun, like at a port or leaning around a wall.

A 9 mm minor iron sight gun in a wide open hose fest is going to be faster but on a TX Star at 25 yards I'll take the open gun evey day.