Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Cast lead reloading data

Gary H.

Interested in trying out cast bullets but can find very little published load info. I have an order in shipping for 180 and 200 grain cast bullets from Missouri Bullet http://www.missouribullet.com/index.php and want to shoot USPSA limited major out of my CZ TS. I've spent a couple hours searching the loading forum and find very little there either. Most of what I find is longer loaded ammo but need the shorter for the CZ. I'm relatively new to reloading and don't yet have a chrono so developing my own load is going to be a pain. Can anyone point me toward a good load or to a publication I can purchase for these? I have the Lymans 49th Edition, Alliance, and Hodgden books. Currently, I have AA 7, Titegroup, and VV N320 powders but would be willing to purchase whatever I need to get rolling.

While I don use the powders that you have listed, I'm sure plenty of folks can provide you load data for the bullets that you are wanting to use. My personal experience is that I get higher pressures with jacketed bullets when trying to make major than lead. Typically for making major I can take jacketed bullet load data and drop the charge by .5 grains as a starting point for the same weight bullet in lead. Out of the powders you listed, VV N320 will be the most popular due to the low recoil impulse with Titegroup being second. Do a search on this forum and you will find lots of load data for the bullets and powder that you are wanting to use.

Good luck!

I'd go with the starting load for a 180 jacketed with titegroup and then work up from there. In my Sig 229, 3.7 of titegroup was a nice mild load. As was said before, lead will not put up as much resistance as jacketed and will show less pressure than jacketed with the same charge of powder.