Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

I drank the blue kool aid

I started shooting about 6 or 7 months ago. I have been through 5 guns, 3 glocks a sig P-220 and a springfield XD-40. I now realize, it is not the gun it is the shooter! :surprise: About 2 or 3 months ago I started reloading on a single stage Herters press that I bought at a garage sale. This thing is SO old I had to find an adaptor because it used screw on shell holders. Anyway, I have loaded between 3,000 and 4,000 rounds on this press. It is painfully slow but that is OK because it matches my shooting abilities ;-) I wanted to get a different press when I started but the budget would not permit this so I started saving my pennies and last night I had enough to order a nice bright blue Dillon 650 :D I had to skimp on some of the accessories but I have a pretty good start. I got the 650, strong mount, aluminum roller handle and a pack of additional primer tubes. I am hoping all the Obama tax cuts hahaha will enable me to get the case feeder and additional caliber conversions that i need when i do my taxes. There is really no point to this post other than I am excited and wanted to tell the world about my nice new Dillon. Thanks for all the help BE friends!

Congrats on your new purchase, you are going to love it. I started off on a Lee Turret Press, which was good to get my feet wet. But I soon found that it just took too much time to reload when I had a buddy come visit from out of state and we wanted to reload 1000 rounds for his visit. After that, I bought a Dillon 550 and it has been one of the best purchases I ever made. Still going strong after 12 years of hard use.

I just finished loading 50 rounds on my new 650 and it is a awesome feeling shooting your own ammo. I also am waiting on getting the casefeeder in a few months, but being new to reloading doesn't even bother me....yet..lol

That's really great to hear!