Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

How many M&P shooters used to run a Glock?

midvalleyshooter

How many of you that run M&P's used to run Glocks? What factors made you switch? I run a G34 with a G17 back up and I am considering getting a M&P to try out.

Thanks,

Keith

I am a Glock shooter (G34 Prod/G17 Backup). I switched to an M&P in Prod for a short while thinking that the replaceable backstraps would help my shooting by providing better ergonomics. I ended up switching back to the Glock after a few months and my wife inherited the M&P. She loves it, I don't...

I've been shooting a G34 for about 7 years; I can remember one malfunction over that time. I have an M+P9 full size, apex sear, like the grip, like the trigger, like the accuracy. But it’s like a beautiful woman, too much time cleaning, primping, and moody (I can expect at least on failure per match). I'm spoiled by the Glock, never needs cleaning, trigger is OK, grip is so-so. Most importantly it "runs" no excuses. I think I am done trusting the M+P.

WOW, You are probably not hearing what you expected! But I have to agree with most of the other replies so far. I started with a pro and had issues with reliability. I went to a Glock 34 and can't make the damn thing NOT work. I also like that everybody makes all kinds of aftermarket stuff for the Glocks whereas the M&P's are far behind in that regard.

There are guys out there like Dan Burwell who can do magic with the M&P. But that should not be needed with a production gun.

Some are having the exact opposite experience with their M&P's and love them. But there are just too many who are not right now.

Went from a Glock 17 to an M&P 9L.

Main reason for the switch was grip ergonomics. I'm one of those people that get major slide bite from Glocks, beaver-tail on the M&P prevents that entirely. I can also reach the mag release and get better leverage on the trigger with the 9L w/small insert.