Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

STI Lawmen VS SA Trophy Match

Victor_R

I'm in the market for a CDP gun for only IDPA but don't know which one to get. My budget is $1500.I would like some advice if possible. I've been eyeing the Trophy Match as I have a TRP already and was told by SA that the only difference between the Trophy Match and TRP was the slide on the Trophy Match has more material taken off of it. I have no experience with STI but hear great things about them. I have three options. I could buy a Trophy Match, buy a Lawmmen or send my SA GI 1911 that I won in a raffle at the IDAHO IDPA state match and send it to SA for custom work. Your help would be much appreciated. O, and if this was the wrong place to put this thread please move it. Thanks for any advice.

ETA= I dont want to use my TRP as it is my carry gun.

Edited by Victor R

Both of those guns have features suitable for the game. The STI has the contingency awards program and a first-name-basis customer service team, and is made 100% in the USA in Georgetown, Texas, God Bless Texas, don't mess with Texas, Texas Hold 'Em, Texas Rangers, One Riot-One Ranger, etc.

I have a Trophy Match and a STI Trojan. I don't think the STI is a better gun. I can feel frame to slide movement in both. The fit of the parts seems about the same to me.

The trophy match is stainless, has an ambi safety and adjustable sights. I replaced the mainspring housing pretty much right out of the box to get rid of the ILS stuff, but you could just replace the guts.

STI's customer service may be good, but Springfield's is very good too. I doubt anyone would claim that STI's was better than Springfield's. Hopefully you don't need it anyway.

STI has contingency, Springfield gives away a lot of guns (you have one).

My guess is that sending in your milspec will cost more than buying either gun, but I'm sure it depends what all you had done. It would also take months.

The springfields can also be harder to find.