Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Prices of Reloading Components

jkatz44

Hi,

I am new to reloading to am trying to get the most information. What is the typical price of brass, bullets, and primers? I know it depends on what type of brand and quantity but I am just looking for a normal price per K.

Thanks,

Jason

Edited by jkatz44

Jason, there is a lot of variation in reloading components. You will probably just have to start doing some searches on web. Lots of vendors here on BE sell components as well.

Places to start would be Powder Valley / Wideners / Midway / Graf & Sons / Mid South / Montana Gold / Black Bullet International / ....................................................

You may even have local suppliers that could be a source as well. Look for sales as well.

your local range would be a great source for brass, tho I have noticed at my range, its been very clean of late, due tothe shortage of components and the fact our local recycle dealers are now taking range brass as scrap brass....

like what has been posted before me, the prices of components has at least doubled in the past yr, and fueled a whole host of things not seen before in the shooting community(ie..hoarding and profiteering) will it mellow out and prices come back to some sort of normalcy??? I dont see it happening for a while yet....

Hi, Jason. Try hard to find primers and/or powder locally. Otherwise the separate Hazmat fees will kill you. That is, unless you order in large quantities. But you asked about costs... what caliber(s) will you be loading? Can you be happy with lead? Most who are not at a very high skill level yet do fine with lead, and it's a lot cheaper. For lead, try Missouri Bullets, and Precision Delta for fmj- both on-line. Once you find your components, and can scavenge range brass, the cost of reloaded rounds can be way less than factory loads. For example, my 9mm cost me about $5 to $6 per 50. Best of luck, and shoot safe.

Chuck