Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

How do I settle on a platform??

Billmanweh

I started shooting by buying my first handgun, a SIG 226, last April.  On the advice of a local instructor, soon after I picked up a Glock 17.  In between, I rented and shot an HK USP, HK P7, Beretta 92, CZ 75, 1911 .45, and a Walther P99.  

Out of everything, I liked the Glock the best.  But there's this nagging feeling in the back of my mind that there might be something better out there.  

**I guess I should throw in the fact that I'm a single, 34 year old commitment phobic**  

How can I settle on the fact that the Glock is for me and get serious about training??  I keep ogling the Wilson and Ed Brown .45's and the custom Hi-Powers, etc.  I'm constantly browsing the classifieds of the gun boards looking for that magic gun.  

Ugh, someone help!

Billmanweh,

There may be no help for you.  Sounds like you have been infected.

A solid arguement could be made for any gun on your list.  It comes down to what feels best for you (If, of course, the gun runs 100%).

Good luck.  

I laugh at the guys who buy the newest, latest, greatest set of golf clubs every spring.  I don't know why I can't get past the same phenomenon in shooting.

It's the shooter, not the gun.  (right?)

Don't worry about the gun, at least you already have one.  Pretty soon you'll be worrying about holsters, then sights, then other add-on parts, etc. etc.    Enjoy shooting your new gun now.  Then buy another one without feeling too guilty It's all part of the process.  Most of us who's been bitten by the shooting bug has gone through this (or still probably is going through this. )