Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Undersize Sizing Die for .40

STIGUY

I have seen and read discussions of using undersized sizing die (I think it was sizing) in reloading. I was wondering (since I am a newbie) shy is this done and do I need one in addition to the RCBS .40 dies I already have? If so, what brand is the best and the source? I believe I saw an advertisement for undersized dies, but I am not sure as this was a general reloading catalog from Cabelas. I also saw a discussion for the CaseMaster or something....followed the link an realized that old prices were like $500. If I obtain a Dillon 650....do I still still need this CaseMaster. Between the two, I am in over $1K and still haven't purchase the bullet and case feeder which eventually I plan on getting for the Dillon. You thoughts are GREATLY APPRECIATED!

An EGW "U" die is simply a resizing die that has been reformed to resize the brass .001" (I think) smaller and is shaved at the bottom so the die can resize lower on the case. The results of using this die are the resulting cartridge chambers more reliably and the tighter cartridge stops the bullet from getting set back into the case after being seated. The disadvantage is it can be a little harder to cycle the reloader. I don't find the die causes me that much more effort over an RCBS resizing die.

I use a U die for 9mm, 40, and 45 acp.

The other alternative to the EGW "U" die which I haven't seen mentioned yet is the Redding GR-x die which resizes the entire case. I use this one instead of the EGW "U" die and it does the job just as well. However, You have to size the cases separately-I size mine on a Lee Cast Classic Single Stage. Here is the link: http://www.redding-reloading.com/pages/grxpushthru.html. There is another die out there that does the same thing as the Redding but can't think of the name right now.

+1 on the EGW .40 U- die, love it.....