Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Browning Hi-power

Patrick Sweeney

Back when I started shooting (you know, when a stone axe was considered a suitable backup piece) there were many guns to choose from. One that always was of interest was the P-35, the Hi-Power. for a few years, the P-35 was neck and neck with the 1911 for IPSC dominance. (For those who recall, it was back when there was a team from Rhodesia.)

Do any of you see competitors using them in matches? Are they even seen in IDPA shoots?

I always loved the way they fit my hand (although I hated they way they bit me and made me bleed) and have been lusting after them again.

I started out shooting a BHP that was modified by Cylinder & Slide. Novaks, Bar-Sto, C&S hammer, trigger, sear, safety and beveled mag well. NO Beavertail. Shoots one hole group (i should say Bill L. shoots a one group with it-no fliers, the barrel was fitted at Bar-Sto with Bill and the old man). Ralph at C&S did the trigger job. Still has the HP creep alittle but breaks at 2.7#.

The part that bites me is not the hammer but the slide nicks the @^@^%@ out of my thumb and I bleed like a stuck pig. I need to dull those edges on the left side.

I shot L10 with it and some Limited. I also shot Tuesday night steel with it for a few months when I was traveling to AZ.

Now it mostly collects dust. I shoot a STI single stack for L10 and getting an Edge to shoot Limited.

I still carry it in a fanny pack once in a while when I am in the Mountains. Nothing fits my hand like that HP and I am most familar with it so that is what I carry on road trips also.