Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Rack-flip-n-catch

a-44978

I'm new to this, 2years now, and i see somthing on occassion that i thought was just flashy.

I have heard from older shooters that ,no it is dangerous.

UNLOAD AND SHOW CLEAR

They yank the slide back witch flips the live round into the air, then catch it in mid air with their weak hand

One shooter i asked about this practice showed me the scars on his hand from a couple of incidents.

Sometimes the out going round strikes the ejector with the primer just right and instant mini granade!

I now stand way back when one of these guys is unloading and i swear they bounce back and fourth like a cheesey disco move or something <_<

Anybody else see this move before?

Yes, I have observed two burst rounds/injured hands. Probably the worst aspect of this flashy behavior is

the shooters attention is momentarily away from the gun. Wandering muzzles, and on one occassion a dropped

gun have been observed by me. Leave show boating at home. If a shooter wants to be known for his/her

competence with firearms, including how to safely handle them, unload slowly, not theatrically.

When "flipping" first became popular RMs/MDs started announcing during the walkthrough (at the major matches) that it would be considered unsafe gun handling and a DQ could/would be issued. There was some grumbling but I don't remember anybody trying it at the matches.

The main problem, as I see it, is that the shooter is subjecting himself, the RO and others to the danger of his careless act. I don't put myself at needels risk and I will thank others not to expose me to that.

Leo

Not in defense of the practice - because it is unsafe - keep in mind that the risk of the ejector ar anything else hitting the primer exists regardless of how you open the gun up. People have been injured holding their hand over the slide, pulling it back to capture the unused round, and having it detonate.