Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

New Female Shooter

SuperP

Hi,

I just came back from the range and I want to make sure I'm not learning any bad habits. This is my first time really practicing the skills involved in practical shooting, and the second time shooting from a holster and with an Open Gun. My husband gave me a bit of critique, but any other tips or suggestions would be wonderful. Thanks so much!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4McLrhqadXY

Location looks like MA, and I believe it to cold all the time because everything between there and M-D line SUCKS and in turn draws a consistent north wind........ Just kidding, well partly, sort of.....

Stay smooth, controlled, and consistent, that is what wins. Get some good instruction on movement, you can shave a full second off the box to box drill when you know HOW to move. All in all that is very impressive for the experience level you have.

Location looks like MA, and I believe it to cold all the time because everything between there and M-D line SUCKS and in turn draws a consistent north wind........ Just kidding, well partly, sort of.....

Stay smooth, controlled, and consistent, that is what wins. Get some good instruction on movement, you can shave a full second off the box to box drill when you know HOW to move. All in all that is very impressive for the experience level you have.

Yeah, it is MA and it was pretty chilly late in the day. I don't take offense, because I don't particularly like this state but that's another story altogether!

Thanks for the critique. I know my movement needs work. The only suggestion I got was to keep the gun up and make sure I'm ready to fire when I step into the box. Not sure if there is an actual right way to get from box A to box B as far as footwork, though.