Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

550B Powder Funnel Problem

To the group,

I am new to reloading and am in the process of working up my IPSC load - 45ACP topped with Montana Gold 200gr JFP using TiteGroup. When reloading once fired brass, I have no problems with the press.

However, when using new Winchester brass, the cases stick to the powder funnel. The funnel requires cleaning every 7 to 10 rounds. I have tried decreasing the the bell, deburring inside and out, lubing the cases with no noted improvement. Contacted Dillion via e-mail and received the following response - it has been known to happen and they suggested cleaning the funnel every 25 rounds. I'd love to get to 25 before I have this problem. More importantly, I in my estimation I shouldn't have to do this anywhere near this frequently. One additional clue - the Starline website FAQs notes this problem with the Dillon powder funnel and their brass in 45 and 40 S&W.

What have I missed?

Your experience and advise is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Herb

HR Henney

I had the same problems with my 650's when I started loading on them 10yrs ago and just marked it up to the nature of the beast. Usually virgin brass needs to be fired and reloaded about three times before it will smoothly flow thru the dillon depending on the temper and thickness of that particular peice of brass.

All I did was tough it out and do what it takes to get these cases loaded and fired and mark it up to experience. Just because this machine has this quirk it is still a fantastic loader and sometimes you have to make allowances for it's nature.

Are you getting brass shaving all around the plate?

Are you sure it's the powder station.  Have you isolated the "sticking" to that station only?

I had a problem with new 10mm brass (starline) in my 550.  The brass would stick to the inside of the crimping station and cause a progressively louder and louder WHACK when I raised the handle.

This didn't happen with used brass......